About Delta Sigma Theta

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women. This includes over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic

  1. Economic Development
  2. Physical and Mental Health
  3. Educational Development
  4. Political Awareness and Involvement
  5. International Awareness and Involvement

For more information, visit our national website at www.deltasigmatheta.org.

Chapter History

On February 22, 1986, twenty-one insightful sorors chartered Marietta-Roswell Alumnae Chapter (MRAC). The chartering was a joyous occasion officiated by Verdelle B. Bellamy, Southern Regional Director, in the community room of the East Cobb Dekalb Federal Savings Bank on Johnson Ferry Road. The service area of the chapter was north of Atlanta in Cobb County and north Fulton County.

The chartering was the culmination of more than a year of effort to establish an alumnae chapter in the northern suburban area of Atlanta. In an effort to recruit other Deltas living in the area, and to solidify the aims and goals of the sisterhood, they started holding monthly meetings beginning on January 24, 1985.

Through their hard work and diligence, these women set a standard of excellence which continues to this day. Their dedication to public service and selfless giving have set a benchmark that we strive to achieve daily. The charter members lit a torch of excellence which will be carried by those whom are privileged to become members of the Marietta-Roswell Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Thirty-two years have passed since those twenty-one dedicated women of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. organized and established the Marietta-Roswell Alumnae Chapter (MRAC).

Charter Members

MRAC Charter Members 1986

  • LaMuriel Adams
  • Angela Dobbins Bailey
  • Beverly Bailey
  • Michelle Barnes
  • Jamarri Bright
  • Arlene Burke
  • Altamarie Burroughs
  • Margaree Fant
  • Lynn Glover
  • Karen Jackson
  • Gina Mapp
  • Milbah McCormick
  • Cheryl Moses
  • Sarah Oates
  • Rosa Perry
  • Geraldine Ray
  • Ursula Simmons
  • Stacy Strickland
  • Lillian Tate
  • Delbra Wilson
  • Deremia Witherspoon